top of page

Fly!

I have a cluttered mind.

I am constantly drifting from one thought to another, one tick box after another on my daily to-do list, continuously daydreaming of things to achieve in my bucket list, effortlessly shifting from one happy memory to another that suddenly leaves me hollow. For someone who is not much of a talker, my deafening mind seems to make up for that.

That is why one morning, or perhaps one laid back afternoon, or maybe one gloomy evening (honestly, I cannot remember), I decided to check out a site on one of the wall posts on my FB. What I saw inspired me. About five years ago, I wanted so badly to enroll in yoga. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any classes in Los Banos. Weeks before, I saw on BBC a feature on fly yoga. Fly yoga! How amazing is that? I definitely would love to try that if given the chance. Now, right in front of my eyes, that one morning, or perhaps one laid back afternoon, or maybe one gloomy evening, is the chance I’ve been waiting for. So, on the first Saturday of January 2012, I went to my favorite village in Makati and signed up for eight classes. The goal of learning how to pole dance pushed to the side. For now.

The first session was a struggle. I realized how much negativity I have in my mind and body. That trusting a simple, harmless hammock proved to be a battle. Even the final relaxation pose where we lie stretched inside the fabric—a time when everyone is supposed to be quieting their minds—was indeed tough for someone like me who can’t convince my mind to shut up. Eventually, I gave in, but with quite a resistance.

My friends ask me what I get out of it. I think it’s still too early to say, what with the four extraordinary sessions I’ve had so far (I’m craving for more!). But I can definitely say that flying is helping me heal, helping me trust again. As Isla always says in the class, trust the fabric, just let go.

Yes, I just have to let go.

fly-3.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page