top of page

Hello from the Philippines!

Hello, everyone!

I am Vannessa from Los Baños, Laguna, Philippines. I first got into yoga in 2012. It was the first Saturday of January. I decided to go to the city and enrol in a fly yoga class. I was going through emotional difficulties at that time and the yoga classes helped me heal and get back on my feet. I attended the classes for almost a year until the burden of commute due to heavy traffic in Manila got to me. I maintained a semi-regular self practice after that. I also joined classes in my town if there were available ones. Early this year, a couple of friends asked me if I could share with them what I know about yoga. I had small informal classes with them twice a week for a couple of months.

It never occured to me that I will be teaching yoga. Until I met Mickey in 2014. He was my yoga teacher in Bali, Indonesia. He shattered my ego and encouraged me to teach. So here I am, hoping to deepen my understanding of yoga and my practice as well through this course and the interactions I will be having with my fellow edx learners here at The Science and Practice of Yoga.

Let's just say that this is a step towards realizing my goal of formally teaching yoga classes. I do intend to get a certification by 2019 after I finish my master's program.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page